Baby · Children · Family · Love

Positivity Breeds Positivity…

Life passes us by in a flash.  We are always so busy, there are little people to keep alive, work needs to be done, homes need to be run and that’s just the start of it.  A lot of the time our lives are planned to the very last detail, in an attempt to make it run as smoothly as possible.  Especially on those days that just don’t have enough hours!

Mostly we get on with this just fine, we fly from one day to the next keeping our heads just nicely above water, but sometimes we can get stuck in a rut.  Sometimes the days start to pass in a blur, and we wonder where our direction has disappeared to.  These are the days that negativity can take over, and you know what they say – ‘negativity breeds negativity’.

After the birth of my second child my days quickly turned into constant blur, living from hour to hour, just getting by.  Life seemed to lose all significant meaning, tiredness took over and the daily grind felt almost impossible.  Three months in I found myself striving for change, I felt the need to lose the negativity that clouded my life, to become positive and continue to be positive whatever the weather.

Here are some tips on how to bring more positivity into your life, apply them and watch it grow!

  • Choose to see the good in life – lets face it life throws crap our way.  Some days it feels like we have more than our fair share of crap thrown at us, and its so easy to get bogged down in the rubbish.   Eventually we can end up feeling like nothing good ever happens.  This is not true.  Every day something good happens, even if it’s only a small thing – the sun shining, an extra ten minutes in bed (yeah right!), a simple ‘I love you’ from those we care about.  Focus on the good, even if its tiny, focus on it!

         

  • Eat right- now don’t get me wrong we all deserve a treat once in a while, but a healthy and balanced diet makes us feel better on the inside.  When our bodies feel good it’s easier for our minds to feel good! 

  • Be thankful- look closely, see what you have.  Someone else may be richer, they may have a nicer car or a bigger house.  Who cares?  Look around you and take stock of your life, what you have is priceless, be thankful for it. 

  • Know your triggers and take care of them- we all have triggers: actions, songs, situations, people.  Triggers affect how we think and feel and they can change our mind set before we’ve even realised its happened.  Know what your triggers are, learn how to take care of them and manage them.  If that song comes on, turn it off – you get the idea. 

  • See the bigger picture- when bad things happen it’s frustrating and upsetting.  Often right in that moment it can feel impossible to deal with.  Take a step back and look at the bigger picture, does it really matter?  Will you care about this after a few days have passed?  Will it continue to affect you or is it momentary? The chances are by tomorrow you will be completely over it, save yourself  from being drawn into a negative cycle.  Step back and let it go.

  • Act positively- even if you aren’t feeling all that positive, act it anyway.  The more you act positive the more you will feel it and eventually that mind set will be your default.  Keep at it! 

  • Smile- just smile.  Smiling instantly makes us happier, even if it’s just for a split second.  Keep smiling, seconds add up!

So there we have it, these simple but effective tips can help us shift those negative feelings that are harbouring in the crevices of our minds.  Let’s stop with the negativity and let positivity breed positivity!

               
 

A Mum Track Mind

 

Pink Pear Bear
Marvellous Mondays badge by Hello Archie
My Random Musings
My Kid Doesn't Poop Rainbows

Mummascribbles</div

3 Little Buttons
45 thoughts on “Positivity Breeds Positivity…

  1. I find the hardest thing is often who you surround yourself with, my family are naturally quite negative people at times and I’m always trying to be calm and positive so find their ‘glass half empty’ approach draining sometimes. All of your tips are great though, especially finding something to be grateful for every day, I need to try harder at that one 🙂 #bigpinklink

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This is so true and I try to do this too…I find that the days when I have had a awful night’s sleep, the negativity creeps in. However I am with you that eating right, smiling and knowing your triggers are so important 🙂 #bigpinklink

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I really like this – I’m feeling tired today and find it easier to ruminate on little things when I’m tired, but this is a good reminder to push past the negative and keep on aiming for positive! Great post, thanks 🙂 #AnythingGoes

    Liked by 1 person

  4. This is excellent advice and all things that can be incorporated quite easily into your daily life if you want to. Although I struggle to eat healthily all the time as junk food makes me so happy! I adore that Roald Dahl quote it’s one of my favourited ❤️ Gorgeous post. #fartglitter

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I love posts like this. I have been through lots of downs since having my boy 10 years ago and I’m actually just splitting up from my second husband. It would be very easy to slip into a negative spiral right now thinking ‘why me…why again?’ etc. but I’m determined not to let that happen. He is a very negative person and I actually feel like I’m moving towards a more positive, brighter future on my own…with my lovely boy. Positive thinking is huge! Tor x #fartglitter

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ah bless you in so sorry to hear that you are in the situation. I really hope you manage to get through to the other side and be strong for it! It’s so good that you are already feeling more positive, long may it continue! Thankyou so much for reading. Much love xx

      Like

  6. There are some very wise words here. You are right when things are wrong life seems terrible. It takes effort sometimes to be positive but it is the only way forward to avoid being overwhelmed by negativity which is corrosive. Thanks for sharing! #MarvellousMondays

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Awesome post! I will pass this on to a friend of men as I was just giving hers similar advice. You say it so well here #TwinklyTuesday linked after you xo

    Liked by 1 person

  8. This is so lovely. I really love all the quotes and I definitely think that it’s so important to try and stay positive as much as possible in life. And that you get back what you give out so send out happy beams! Thanks for joining us at the #bigpinklink

    Liked by 1 person

  9. I love the Roald Dahl quote. I’ve just started reading The Twits with my daughter and we’ve had quite a long chat about that bit as I think it’s so very true. I totally agree that our thoughts can very much dictate our outlook and actions, and just by thinking of things in a slightly more positive way we can feel immediately so much better. Great post. Thanks for linking with #fartglitter x

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Your opening line – positivity breeds positivity is so true! There are lots of factors in our lives that make us think negative thoughts, and sometimes it’s hard not too. But I’m of the mindset that being positive makes you a much better person, more confident and better at getting things done. A smile can say a thousand words. I’m trying really hard to be positive everyday and that is so important now that I’ve gone back to work, and trying to manage a million things at once. I think that blogging is a very positive thing to do, and it has certainly helped my positivity. Thanks so much for linking at #fortheloveofBLOG. Claire x

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Really good tips here! I totally agree about being thankful for what you have – that one normally bucks me up! I love the Roald Dahl quote – smiling does make you look lovely (and makes everyone wonder what you’re up to!). #TwinklyTuesday X

    Liked by 1 person

  12. I really love this post, so many great tips. Lots of these I’ve tried and do, but the trigger one for me was new. I was aware of triggers, but have never really thought of them in this way before. Just reading this post has made me feel a little more positive and optimistic, I really do love posts like these so thanks for sharing it on #MarvMondays. Emily

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

